bright are the stars

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ok…wow…just wow. August 21, 2009

Filed under: Misa — Misa @ 8:02 pm

I make an effort to not let what others say bother me, but boy oh boy as that been hard these past few weeks. Maybe I’m just stressed out from the PCS which is causing little things to get to me more?

I was having a conversation with another air force wife last night and I was looking at a list of activities at our new base and I was excited because there were lots of activities I was genuinely interested in – community service, exercise classes, etc. I made a flippant comment about how I would be happy to do any activity on the list except for scrap booking. No offense to anyone that does scrapbook, but I just do not care for this activity even when I’m doing it with other people. Well, my friend gave me this big speech about how selfish I was being and that I had to scrapbook or it would hurt my husbands career and on and on…eventually ending up with how she thinks it is also selfish that I am so interested in getting a job. Just wow. I listened quietly and then made an excuse that someone was at the door so I had to go since I really did not wish to continue speaking with her because I did not want to start an argument.

I really did not think that disliking scrap booking would lead to this kind of conversation. In fact, when I made the comment I thought I was being kind of funny. I’ve been trying to brush the whole conversation off. I am even assuming that maybe my friend was just having a bad day or was hormonal or something, but honestly I am having a hard time getting over it. Even though I know not everyone is like this, it is still upsetting. It makes me feel like some three-headed-purple-monster sometimes just because I do not quite fit the mold that everyone seems to want me to.

Here’s to a better day tomorrow. 🙂

 

One Response to “Ok…wow…just wow.”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    I really don’t see how not scrapbooking can hurt your husband’s career. That’s so weird. I think your plan to do community service would be a much bigger plus to your husband’s career than scrapbooking


Leave a comment